U.N. Convention for Rights of Persons w/ Disabilities? CRPD is Against the Disabled!

3 Dec

by Heather Grace, IPJ Staff Writer

I am appalled at the tactics being taken under the guise of “equality” by the U.N. And presumably, the U.S. Senate if this vote goes through on Tuesday. The U.N. Convention for the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, or CRPD, is flat out *wrong.*

To require disabled infants to register immediately after birth (Article 18) and forcing disabled people to comply w/ mandatory monitoring (Article 33) is disgusting. Where in those requirements is there individuality *or* equal rights?! Last time I checked, this wasn’t Nazi Germany! What exactly is the U.N. attempting here?

As a disabled American, I am extremely offended–NO, OUTRAGED! Rounding people up to “protect” them will be next, right? Thanks but NO THANKS! I have done just fine without being labeled & monitored like a lab rat. The rights of disabled people have already been well established without branding us all with a scarlet “D.”

So I urge you, my Senator, to *PLEASE* VOTE NO! And, please also urge the entire Senate & U.N. to reconsider this dangerous ideology. CRPD is not about giving anyone equal footing, it’s about STEPPING ON THE LESS ABLE.

I say it again: *PLEASE* VOTE NO!

Thank you for your time & attention,
Heather Grace
Californian since birth
Disabled since 1999

NOTE: The above letter was sent to senators as well as posted to my web site and on social media. I’m speaking up for all people with disabilities, without requiring any strange & underhanded things on the part of my fellow man. Imagine that! I hope the U.N. & our U.S. government will do the same. Rethink your actions and stop playing games with people’s lives! Neither the U.S.–or any country–need your hand in the lives of our disabled citizenry!

To my readers: The full text of the CRPD is online at http://www.un.org/disabilities/convention/conventionfull.shtml. Please read it for yourself. YOU MAY ALSO BORROW MY ENTIRE LETTER (OR EDIT/SEND PART OF IT) TO SEND TO YOUR SENATOR. Contact them online at http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm. Or, call them via 202.224.3121. If you plan to do so, do it asap! The vote is tomorrow, December 4.

* Follow me on Twitter @IntractablePain
* See more articles at http://thepainstore.blogspot.com.

3 Responses to “U.N. Convention for Rights of Persons w/ Disabilities? CRPD is Against the Disabled!”

  1. Lynne December 4, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    This is beyond horrid – I shared this on my Facebook page & will contact my senators.

    Like

  2. Cynthia Lustig May 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    What happened with this CRPD push? I can’t find anything beyond fighting against it. Does that mean it is histroy and was not ratified?

    Like

    • thepainjournal March 15, 2014 at 1:24 am #

      Yes, I believe so. Thankfully. It was an awful thing to do to people… And the people stood firmly against it.

      Like

Share Your Feedback-We WANT To Hear From You

